7 Fremont County students receive the University of Wyoming’s top academic scholarship

Seven seniors from Fremont County School Districts #1 and #25 were awarded the 2020 Trustees’ Scholars Award, the University of Wyoming’s top academic scholarship.

“These students represent the highest caliber of academic talent from across Wyoming high schools — students who would excel at any university in the country — and we are delighted to have them attend the state’s world-class university,” UW Associate Vice Provost for Enrollment Management Kyle Moore says.


Fremont County recipients with their chosen majors include:

Lander Valley High School — Jed Barnes, mechanical engineering; Ryan Brinda, chemistry; Lillian Gose, chemistry; Nicholas Kulow, architectural engineering; Alexa Mazur, engineering/undeclared; and Kenzie McPhie, anthropology.

Riverton High School — Trevon Stevens, physiology.

Recipients are evaluated on their academic excellence (high school grade-point average, ACT/SAT scores and curriculum rigor). Individual interviews were held as well. For this year’s award winners, the average GPA is 3.96, and the average ACT score is 32. The premier scholarship for Wyoming resident high school seniors covers actual credit hours taken as well as room and board costs for eight semesters at UW, starting with the fall 2020 semester.

You can view the complete list of statewide recipients by clicking here.



Have a news tip or an awesome photo to share?