Fremont County is eligible for new grant from Wyoming State Historic Preservation Office

    The Wyoming State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) received $350,000 in grant funding from the Paul Bruhn Historic Revitalization Grants Program through the National Park Service. The objective of this grant program is to support the rehabilitation of historic buildings on rural historic main streets and/or commercial districts in Wyoming.

    Grant funds may be used for restoration and preservation projects to historic buildings, including but not limited to, repairing roofs, stabilizing foundations, rehabilitating windows, upgrading necessary infrastructure, ADA accessibility and restoring building interiors. Preference will be given to projects which have not been awarded any form of federal grant funding in the past.

    In order for Wyoming properties to qualify, the property must be: a) a commercial or mixed-use property; and b) listed or eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. If the property is not listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the property owner must agree to do so by the completion of the project.


    Grant funding will be targeted to communities that have a Historic Preservation Board certified by the State Historic Preservation Office or involved in the Wyoming Main Street program. The community must be under 50,000 in population according to the US Census Bureau.

    Applications for funding may be submitted from private, educational, tribal governments and nonprofit entities located in the Wyoming rural areas listed below.

    Qualifying Wyoming Main Street communities include:

    Qualifying Wyoming Certified Local Governments (CLG) Communities include:

    • Albany County
    • City of Douglas
    • City of Evanston
    • Fremont County
    • City of Gillette
    • Town of Glenrock
    • City of Green River
    • City of Kemmerer
    • Town of Meeteetse
    • Natrona County (not including City of Casper)
    • Park County
    • City of Rock Springs
    • Sheridan County
    • Sublette County
    • Teton County
    • Washakie County
    • Weston County
    • Town of Wheatland

    Grant Application Guidelines and Application Form are available on the Wyoming State Historic Preservation Office website,

    Grant Application Deadline: March 1, 2021. (An additional deadline may be established if grant funds remain available.)

    For more information about this grant program, please contact: Brian Beadles, 307-777-8594, [email protected] or Linda Kiisk, 307-777-7566, [email protected].


    Related Posts

    Have a news tip or an awesome photo to share?