Three Fremont County students selected for Heisman High School Scholarship

(Fremont County, WY) – On Monday, November 1st, the Heisman Trophy Trust and Acceptance Insurance announced the 2021 School Winners for the Heisman High School Scholarship, presented by Acceptance Insurance.

Three students from Fremont County received recognition, including: Wind River High School’s Cade David, Lander Valley High School’s Demi Stauffenberg, and Dubois High School’s Jorie Hess.

These three students were selected from an applicant pool of thousands of high school scholar-athletes graduating with the class of 2022.

Wind River Middle/High School Principal Justin Walker had nothing but good things to say about Cade, commenting “Cade always carries himself with pride and is respectful of his community, school and family.”

“He’s a fantastic, well-rounded student, National Honor Society President, FFA member, and plays on the football and basketball teams,” Walker continued.

Lander’s Stauffenberg was recognized on social media for the accomplishment by LVHS administration and Guidance Counselor Stacey Stanbury:


Dubois High School’s Guidance Counsellor Mike Marcus also beamed over their student recipient Jorie Hess, stating “She’s definitely a deserving candidate, a true leader, and is involved with a ton of school activities.”

“Jorie’s community oriented and jumps right in to help whenever she can,” Marcus continued.

In total there were over 5,700 students that were named School Winners in the Heisman High School Scholarship competition.

The School Winners announced today will continue on for the chance to become State Winners, National Finalists or National Winners.


State Winners will be announced tomorrow, National Finalists will be announced November 8th, and National Winners will be revealed on December 1st.

State Winners receive a $1,000 college scholarship, National Finalists receive a
$2,000 college scholarship and the male and female National Winners will each
receive a $10,000 college scholarship.

A complete list of all the Wyoming School Winners can be found here.

The Heisman High School Scholarship is presented by Acceptance Insurance. From its inception in 1994, the program has leveraged the reputation of the Heisman Memorial Trophy as a symbol of great ability combined with diligence, perseverance, and hard work.

The Heisman High School Scholarship presented by Acceptance Insurance extends the Heisman prestige to the nation’s most esteemed high school seniors by celebrating and rewarding outstanding male and female scholar-athletes who understand that the most important victories happen not only on the field, but also in their schools and communities.

The Heisman Trophy Trust was proud to partner with Acceptance Insurance in 2020 to present these prestigious scholarships.

Over the past 27 years, the program has honored more than 600,000 of the nation’s most esteemed high school seniors and provided hundreds of thousands of dollars in college scholarships to students and more than a million dollars to high school academic and athletic programs across the country.

The program honors the nation’s most accomplished, community-minded high school senior athletes.

By inviting male and female students from schools across the country to share their stories of leadership and impact, the program aims to inspire all students to harness their potential, push their limits, and use their talents not only to advance their own futures, but to improve the communities and world around them.


Related Posts

Have a news tip or an awesome photo to share?