Riverton artist has seven pieces in the The Wyoming Arts Council Biennial Fellowship Exhibition

    Robert Martinez, of Riverton, is a 2018 Wyoming Arts Council Visual Arts Fellowship recipient and has seven pieces currently on display in the Biennial Fellowship Exhibition. In addition to these seven pieces displayed in Laramie, Martinez has several other pieces in galleries across the country ranging from NYC to Santa Fe. He also said works from the Creative Indigenous Collective, including himself, are featured in the August and September Cowboys & Indians Magazine.

    Martinez shares he “Feels very honored to be picked for a fellowship.”

    h/t Robert Martinez

    Wyoming Arts Council announces the following:


    A reception for the exhibition, “Western Explorations: The Wyoming Arts Council Biennial Fellowship Exhibition, 2018 and 2019” will be held on Thursday, Aug. 15, 5-7 p.m. at the University of Wyoming Art Museum in Laramie. The reception is free and open to the public.

    The Wyoming Arts Council’s Biennial Fellowship Exhibition offers Wyoming residents and visitors the opportunity to view outstanding artwork created by the Wyoming artists who were selected as Visual Arts Fellowship recipients. The exhibition is hosted every two years by major arts venues around the state.

    Artwork for the exhibition is selected by an out of state curator who has served as a fellowship juror for both years. The juror is tasked with conducting studio visits with each artist, selecting artwork for the exhibition, working with the hosting venue, and contributing an essay to the corresponding exhibition catalog. The exhibition catalog also features the artwork of the Honorable Mention artists from the previous two years.

    This year’s curator is Ruth Bruno, the Art in Public Places Program Manager with Colorado Creative Industries.


    The artists included in this year’s Biennial Fellowship Exhibition are, from 2018: Margaret K. Haydon (Laramie), Patrick Kikut (Laramie), and Robert Martinez (Riverton), and from 2019: Joe Arnold (Laramie), Elaine Olafson Henry (Big Horn), and Andy Kincaid (Wilson).

    Artists who received Honorable Mentions in 2018 are: Ashley Hope Carlisle (Laramie), Andy Kincaid (Wilson), and Rani Robison (Laramie), and in 2019: Sonja Caywood (Dayton), Brittney Denham (Sheridan), and Wendell Field (Jackson).


    h/t Wyoming Arts Council

    Related Posts

    Have a news tip or an awesome photo to share?