Record number of attendees at the 10th annual Native American Education Conference in Riverton

    Native American Education Conference Mission Statement: Instill pride and strengthen engagement in youth through learning Native American history and culture.

    Wyoming Department of Education (WDE) shares, 649 people attended the 10th annual Native American Education Conference in Riverton on August 7th and 8th. 69 students also took part in youth activities at the conference. This is a record number of attendees according to WDE.

    US Senator Mike Enzi presented the 2019 Youth Pacesetter Award winners at the conference. According to the WDE, “The annual Youth Pacesetter honorees were chosen based on their academic achievement, attendance, leadership among peers, community service and aspirations for higher learning.”


    2019 winners:

    • Delaina Becenti, Mountain View High School
    • Donavan Underwood, Arapahoe Charter High School
    • Estrellita Martinez, Arapahoe Charter High School:
    • Steven Antelope, St. Stephens High School
    • Orelia Lawson, St. Stephens High School
    • Jayden Whiteplume, Wyoming Indian High School
    • Amanda Gardner,  Wyoming Indian High School
    • Kyle Yellowbear, Riverton High School
    • Belle Young Chief, Riverton High School
    • Antonio Coando,  Lander Valley High School
    • Gabby St. Clair, Lander Valley High School
    • A’Kai Grey Bull, Fort Washakie High School
    • Larami Azure, Fort Washakie High School
    • Scott Woodruff, Torrington High School
    • Deshea Schnell, Torrington High School

    Congratulations to all the winners!

    More details about the conference can be found here.


    Related Posts

    Have a news tip or an awesome photo to share?