Miller loses House Speaker post to Harshman in GOP Caucus

(Casper, Wyo.) – According to published reports St. Rep. David Miller of Riverton lost his bid to become the Speaker of the Wyoming House of Representatives at a Republican party caucus in Casper. The Majority Floor Leader, Miller was in line to be the new speaker, but current speaker Steve Harshman of Casper sought re-election and was successful.

Traditionally, after a two-year term, the Speaker surrenders that office and the Majority Floor Leader moves up. Not so for this coming legislative session. This is the second time a Fremont County lawmaker up for the Speaker’s Chair has been denied the seat. The late St. Rep. Harry Tipton of Lander was dealt the same hand during his last term in the House.

Legislative Leaders chosen by their respective caucuses are:




President: Drew Perkins, Casper

Vice President: Ogden Driuskill, Devils Tower


Majority Leader: Dan Dockstader, Afton


Speaker: Steve Harshman, Casper


Speaker Pro Tempore: Albert Sommers, Pinedale

Majority Floor Leader: Eric Barlow, Gillette

Majority Whip: Tyler Lindholm, Sundance




Minority Leader: Chris Rothfuss, Laramie

Minority Whip: Lisa Anselmi-Dalton, Rock Springs

Minority Caucus Chairman: Mike Gierau, Jackson


Minority Floor Leader: Cathy Connoilly, Laramie

Minority Whip: Charles Pelkey, Laramie

Minority Caucus Chairman: John Freeman, Green River




Related Posts

Have a news tip or an awesome photo to share?