County voters mirrored state results for Congressional, Statewide contests

    (Lander, Wyo.) – Fremont County voted in step with the rest of the state in nominating national and statewide candidates for the November General Election, on both the Republican and Democratic tickets, with one exception.

    County GOP voters cast their lots with Senator John Barrasso, Congressman Liz Cheney, Mark Gordon for Governor, and Kristi Racines for State Auditor. The only race where county voters chose a different candidate was in the race for State Treasurer. Local voters preferred Leland Christensen, but statewide the nod went to Curt Meier.  Edward Buchanan, the incumbent, was unopposed for Secretary of State and Superintendent of Public Instruction Jillian Balow, also an incumbent, did not have an opponent.

    On the Democratic side, local voters went for Greg Hunter for U.S. Representative and Mary Throne for Governor, as did the rest of the state. Running unopposed was Gary Trauner for U.S. Senate, James W. Byrd for Secretary of State,and Jeff Dockter for State Auditor. Democrats did not field candidates for State Treasurer or Superintendent of Public Instruction.


    Here’s how the county and state voted for the candidates:

    Fremont Co.        Wyoming

    US Senator

    John Barrasso (R)      5,420            56,462


    Dave Dodson, (R)      2,241              24,295

    Gary Trauner (D)      1,396              13,251

    US Representative


    Liz Cheney (R)      5,364                  56,520

    Rod Miller (R)      1,473                   16,677

    Greg Hunter (D)     814                    7,818


    Travis Helm  (D)    566                    4,869


    Mark Gordon (R)      2,660             28,507

    Foster Friess (R)      2,038              23,250

    Harriet Hageman     1,851              18,897

    Mary Throne  (D)     1,001               9,502

    Kenneth Casner (D)   280                   911

    State Auditor

    Kristi Racines (R)        4,796          44,912

    Nathan Winters (R)    2,483          30,461

    State Treasurer

    Leland Christensen (R) 3,566    35,376

    Curt Meier (R)                3,467    38,740



    Related Posts

    Have a news tip or an awesome photo to share?